ICDO Buy ICDO Gear at the ICDO CafePress Store!
Toggle Content Toggle Content
 
  Toggle Content
Menu:
 

  Toggle Content
User Info
 

Welcome Anonymous

Nickname
Password

Membership:
Latest: Ridgeh
New Today: 0
New Yesterday: 0
Overall: 7914

People Online:
Members: 0
Visitors: 49
Total: 49
Who Is Where:
 Visitors:
01: Photo Gallery
02: Photo Gallery
03: Forums
04: Forums
05: Forums
06: Forums
07: Photo Gallery
08: Photo Gallery
09: Forums
10: Forums
11: Photo Gallery
12: Photo Gallery
13: Photo Gallery
14: Forums
15: Forums
16: Forums
17: Forums
18: Photo Gallery
19: Forums
20: Forums
21: Photo Gallery
22: Forums
23: Forums
24: Forums
25: Forums
26: Home
27: Home
28: Forums
29: Forums
30: Forums
31: Forums
32: Forums
33: Forums
34: Forums
35: Home
36: Forums
37: Forums
38: Photo Gallery
39: Forums
40: Forums
41: Home
42: Forums
43: Forums
44: Photo Gallery
45: Home
46: Photo Gallery
47: Photo Gallery
48: Forums
49: Forums

Staff Online:

No staff members are online!

  Toggle Content
Donations
 
Donate and suport ICDO!

 
Forums › Marker Talk › Problem/Tech forum :: Archives › Promaster Not Firing... :: Archived

Promaster Not Firing...
Have a problem with your marker? Ask here
Post new topic   Revive this topic   Printer Friendly Page     Forum IndexProblem/Tech forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
TenaciousD
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: Feb 11, 2006
Posts: 6
Location: Westchester County, NY

PostPosted: Mon Aug 07, 2006 1:07 pm    Post subject: Promaster Not Firing...

Hello Everyone,

I'm having some issues with my Promaster, and I was hoping someone could point me in the right direction as far as what I should check or what the problem might be...

Here's the whole story..I was playing last sunday when the Promaster started misfiring, double feeding, etc. At the time I chalked it up to bad detents or something similar, and took my spare marker out of the gear bag. (I was generalling a big game at the time, didn't have a chance to tech it right then).

So a few days later I get it out to figure out what the problem is, air it up (bolt cocks fine), and try dry firing. The marker will not fire, rather the solenoid makes a strange noise similar to a "phut phut phut" . I took both regs apart, relubed them and tried again, but still not working. I replaced the battery, still not working. Also, after 5-7 shots the HPR will "click" (HPR set to 225psi), and despite what settings the dip switches are set to, it ramps to full auto.

I'm going to take the LPR apart again tonight to check for a blockage, but other than that I'm out of ideas. Am I looking at a bad solenoid? Could it be a clogged QEV? Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance,
-Dave
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail Visit poster's website
DarrylHadfield
Just Some Guy
Just Some Guy


Joined: Jan 03, 2004
Posts: 4234
Location: Ohio

PostPosted: Mon Aug 07, 2006 3:24 pm    Post subject: Re: Promaster Not Firing...

Hm. Have you tried a new battery?

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
DarrylHadfield
Just Some Guy
Just Some Guy


Joined: Jan 03, 2004
Posts: 4234
Location: Ohio

PostPosted: Mon Aug 07, 2006 3:24 pm    Post subject: Re: Promaster Not Firing...

Hm. Have you tried a CONFIRMED new battery? i.e. you didn't swap out with a flaky battery, did you?

What about the board.. what are you shooting? Stock?

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
TenaciousD
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: Feb 11, 2006
Posts: 6
Location: Westchester County, NY

PostPosted: Mon Aug 07, 2006 4:34 pm    Post subject: Re: Promaster Not Firing...

DarrylHadfield wrote:
Hm. Have you tried a CONFIRMED new battery? i.e. you didn't swap out with a flaky battery, did you?

What about the board.. what are you shooting? Stock?

It's very possible the battery I put in it last night had issues as well...I swapped out the old one and put in the spare I keep in my toolbox. I'll pick up a fresh one tonight and give it a try.

-D
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail Visit poster's website
DarrylHadfield
Just Some Guy
Just Some Guy


Joined: Jan 03, 2004
Posts: 4234
Location: Ohio

PostPosted: Mon Aug 07, 2006 5:01 pm    Post subject: Re: Promaster Not Firing...

What about electronics? What are you shooting? Stock, Kila, 2k6 chaos, etc..?

Some of the earlier 2k6 chaos boards had flaky components (mfg's fault, not VW's); the later versions worked okay. Based on your comment about dip switches, though, I'm guessing stock or Kila.

Sounds to me like you have regs that need to be rebuilt. I ran a tourney this past weekend where a guy had a similar problem with a stock marker - the regs were questionable at best. Then again, at least his would still fire..

D.

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
TenaciousD
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: Feb 11, 2006
Posts: 6
Location: Westchester County, NY

PostPosted: Mon Aug 07, 2006 5:24 pm    Post subject: Re: Promaster Not Firing...

DarrylHadfield wrote:
What about electronics? What are you shooting? Stock, Kila, 2k6 chaos, etc..?

Some of the earlier 2k6 chaos boards had flaky components (mfg's fault, not VW's); the later versions worked okay. Based on your comment about dip switches, though, I'm guessing stock or Kila.

Sounds to me like you have regs that need to be rebuilt. I ran a tourney this past weekend where a guy had a similar problem with a stock marker - the regs were questionable at best. Then again, at least his would still fire..

D.

Sorry about that...yes I have the stock board.

I'm still getting the hang of this stuff (I'm a reformed A5 owner), so I apologize if I sound too noobish. When you say the regs need to be rebuilt, you mean a complete disassembly / relube / etc?

UPDATE: I replaced the battery with a brand new one, and that resolved the ramping issue I was having. Also, I tried turning up the LPR to get the Solenoid to vent (to verify airflow to the solenoid), when I did that I heard a loud pop and the gun was able to be fired. I have no idea what happened..blockage?!?!

The only remaining issue is the HPR "clicking". Watching the needle on the HPR gauge I can see that the pressure starts at 225 then slowly drops to 175 and "clicks" back up to 225. I'm guessing this is an HPR issue? No leaks were detected.

-D

-D
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail Visit poster's website
dyn2liv
Pro Baller
Pro Baller


Joined: Jul 09, 2004
Posts: 847
Location: FLA

PostPosted: Thu Sep 14, 2006 7:22 am    Post subject: Re: Promaster Not Firing...

-> That isn't your HPR doing that. Well it is is and it isn't.
-> You have a leak somewhere that is draining off HPR air and the HPR is just opening to refill the chamber.

-> All air starts from the HP reg. Air then goes to the LPR, from LPR to the Solenoid, from the solenoid to the ram. Air also fills the chamber in front of your valve.
-> Check simple leaks 1st; LPR & o-rings, HPR joints, open clamshell & check valve lock screw, check all hosed connections and check the back of the ram housing cap. Do these checks with a 50/50 solution of soap & water, use an eye dropper to apply, spray bottles tend to make a mess. (Just remember not to drown everything, it is after all electrical and will fry/ short out)
-> Hope this helps.

_________________

trample the weak, hurdle the dead...
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail MSN Messenger Photo Gallery
DarrylHadfield
Just Some Guy
Just Some Guy


Joined: Jan 03, 2004
Posts: 4234
Location: Ohio

PostPosted: Thu Sep 14, 2006 10:10 am    Post subject: Re: Promaster Not Firing...

And FYI.. A little birdy told me that jacking the stock PM board in backwards can in many cases FRY the board...

I suspect that's what happened to mine, since I had it all disassembled and wasn't paying attention to how the harness header was oriented.. Sad

D.

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
TheArtist
Amateur
Amateur


Joined: Apr 11, 2005
Posts: 223
Location: Dell Rapids SD

PostPosted: Thu Sep 14, 2006 2:25 pm    Post subject: Re: Promaster Not Firing...

check to see if it is the one with a double o-ring. I've had nothing but trouble with them. I changed them to the single one and no problems.
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Revive this topic   Printer Friendly Page     Forum IndexProblem/Tech forum All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1


Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum
 

 
Photo Gallery Pics...
Toggle Content

Forums scroll Last posts
Toggle Content
Last 10 Forum Messages

ICD thread to Cocker thread adapter
Last post by hgblues in TechnicalTinker on Jul 31, 2019 at 22:42:06

ICD gear dump
Last post by Maximilian in ICD Gear Forum on Jun 01, 2019 at 04:00:09

WTB promaster or parts
Last post by Whattheslow in ICD Gear Forum on Apr 25, 2019 at 05:42:21

Anyone still make/sell promaster parts
Last post by Whattheslow in ProMaster on Apr 24, 2019 at 21:30:18

Need barbs for my promaster
Last post by Sneaky in ICD Gear Forum on Mar 09, 2019 at 18:57:07

Z-Grip
Last post by 63VDub in Bushmaster General talk on Mar 05, 2019 at 14:38:39

Nobody's a good guy, but not a winner this time
Last post by Frmrspecialist in ICDO's Next Top Builder on Jan 27, 2019 at 20:09:36

PRP First run Serial numbers
Last post by opcfieldman in PRP General Forum on Jan 19, 2019 at 22:53:32

Bushmaster bodies, Custom T2 trigger other misc odds and end
Last post by dwn0414 in ICD Gear Forum on Jan 09, 2019 at 22:35:13

Need some parts
Last post by ssechriest in ICD Gear Forum on Jan 03, 2019 at 16:50:36


 
All info copyright www.icd-owners.com 2000-2016. No reproduction of anything on this site is permitted without express consent from ICDO.
GNU Terry Pratchett
Interactive software released under GNU GPL, Code Credits, Privacy Policy